Rings vs Barbells in initial piercings

Ally writes: “Why is it better to pierce with a stud in the conch area verses a ring?”

That is a wonderful question, Alyssa! The simple answer is ‘healing’. Now lets get into depth….

I had my conch pierced ‘back in the day’ with a captive bead ring. I loved the look of it, but it never felt good. I walk with a bounce in my step, like any good man should, and every time I moved, that jewelry would move too. If I jumped, the jewelry would move upwards and then slam down on my ear upon landing. The excess movement hurt and led to my piercing being constantly sore. Sleeping was also an issue because there was so much excess jewelry hanging off my ear. I couldn’t lay my head on a pillow without feeling pain! I eventually couldn’t take it anymore and removed the jewelry, letting the piercing close.

Fast forward a few years, and I decided to have my conch pierced again, but this time with a labret post. The difference was like night and day. I could move freely, jump off of things, and sleep!! Since there wasn’t an abundance of metal hanging off my ear, the wound was able to heal quickly and easily!

My other issue with piercing with a hoop, is the fact that the jewelry is round! When inserted into a fresh piercing, the curvature of the jewelry puts pressure on the entrance and exit points of the piercing. The constant pressure can be uncomfortable and greatly increases the risk of your body rejecting the piercing. If a barbell or labret is used, there is little to no pressure being put on the entrance and exit points of the piercing, enabling your body to heal up rapidly!

I believe that rings shouldn’t be used in any initial piercing, not just a conch. The biggest reason is due to the excess trauma the ring causes to the wound when it moves. Anytime the jewelry is rotating through the wound, it is destroying the cells that are trying to form new tissue, which leads to many problems and a longer healing time. I only pierce with medical grade titanium jewelry, which cannot adhere to the tissue. This allows you to leave the jewelry alone and not have to rotate it through the wound, causing damage!

In closing, hoops or CBRs, are a wonderful piece of jewelry to wear in a healed piercing. They come in a variety of sizes, diameters, colors and bead options!

Do you have any piercing questions you’d like answer? Send me an email (bornthiswaybodyarts@gmail.com) or a facebook message (http://www.facebook.com/bornthiswaybodyarts) and maybe you’ll see your question picked to be featured on the blog!

~ by Born This Way Body Arts on August 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
